Monday, September 30, 2019

Vacation Starts the Seventh

This is going to be epic. Planned out perfectly.

Saturday, August 31, 2019

More Vacation Planning

Looking forward to this! Here's my route around the olympic peninsula on US-101, and then US-101 down the coast of Oregon.

I'll be leaving in time to visit my cousin outside of Salt Lake City the second week of October.

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Vacation Plans

It's over thirty hours drive from my house to the beginning of US 101 and my vacation drive.

Sunday, June 30, 2019

Ordered the Final Eight Synclavier Voices...

... But they won't get here until September due to refurbished cards being backordered. Arg.

Friday, May 31, 2019

Just Awaiting the Final Synclavier Voice Cards

And planning a vacation for this fall. I'm going to do the 101 Pacific Coast Highway from the Olympic Peninsula south to Los Angeles in my Dream Buggy.

I've spent the past eighteen months restoring it and it's been perfectly reliable, so I think we're ready.

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Eight More Voices for the Synclavier

That makes 24 voices, so only eight more before I've finished the satellite system. No more to report this month.

Sunday, March 31, 2019

One Last Time through The Schillinger System

While I'm awaiting the additional voice cards I need for my Synclavier, I have been keeping occupied by going through my music theory library. I've been through The System three or four times since 1987, and so I decided to do it one last time. The System is ultimately a failure, of course, because no system is revealed, and many of the speculative notions Schillinger proposes are ridiculous. One reason this is so is because he dismisses the idea that the harmonic series has any influence on how we perceive music. He does this by pointing out that in natural sounds, all the harmonics present add up to a unison. I find this brief rejection of the harmonic series' potential to influence our musical perception to be humorous, because in every other thing he presents exhaustive lists of reasons. But he had to do it, otherwise most of his futurism falls apart. All you need to do is strike the nodes on a guitar's low E string up to the seventh, and you can hear how the series desires to resolve up to the A string (Or a major or minor chord on A). So this is the most fatal flaw in The System.

Another factor was Schillinger's untimely death, which makes his System a hodgepodge put together by some of his students and his widow.

But some of Schillinger's ideas are fantastic, such as the axes of melody and the circular and crosswise voice leading transformations in harmony. Both of those things have helped me greatly and have also lead to many compositions. I composed eighteen Axial Studied for solo guitar alone, and the second set of six comprised my final project for my MM degree. So it was far from a waste of time, but I've debunked all of the nonsense, while keeping the mechanics to explain how the harmonic series creates the very essence of musical context. I have written about it here, and about all of the secondary dominants here.